Crafty Procastinator

I finished the blanket I was working on for my new niece a couple of days ago but can’t seem to find the inspiration to photograph it.  In the meantime, I’ve started experimenting with artist trading cards (ATCs). Here’s my first one:

Owl ATC

I made it for my first mail exchange on Swap Bot.  I was introduced to this community through the blog Pretty Little Things In a Box.  I’d been intrigued by the posts where *Wisher* shared her recent treasures that had arrived in the mail and did some investigating.  I’m a little nervous about being a part of the community.  Some of the swappers seem a little catty about “flakers.” Personally, I’m just happy to create and let g0 and can’t see my day being ruined if I don’t get something back.  Despite this concern, there are too many reasons for me to benefit from this experience for me to pass it up.

I’m a lot excited to receive little treasures and make creative connections from across the globe.  My Gramz and I used to mail things to each other all the time when I was little.  Often, I would find some treasure to make her and couldn’t wait to decorate the package and send it along.  I loved what she sent me but enjoyed giving to her so much more. Being a part of this community, and getting just as excited to give to strangers, provides a most excellent opportunity to continue enhancing my creative self through the focused practice of giving.

For this ATC, I looked through my recipients profile and noticed that she likes books, owls, warm colors, and hearts.  So, I used a page from a very old book on Owls, some Clip Art, moss, a button, some trim, and a little bit of yarn to compose this piece.  I have no idea how to mail it yet and will work on that over the weekend!

Photos of my blanket coming soon!

3 thoughts on “Crafty Procastinator

  1. I love your thinking re Swap-bot. I just received your ATC, it is exquisite, I am sending you some snail mail for when you get back home from your trip to Jamaica. A private swap between you and me. Mak (Marion)

    1. I loved your package!! I got home super late last night and it was a welcome surprise to find your package. Thank you so much!! I’m looking forward to more private swaps with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

