Stash Busting a Granny Pillow

Not too long ago, I posted about a Granny Square Blanket I’d finished. I mentioned that I wasn’t overly fond of the colors I had chosen, mostly because bright orange isn’t my favorite color.  That’s, though, why I chose to use it.  I wanted to make something that used a color I don’t generally find inspiring. Well, I confess that I bought way too much wool for the blanket and was left with a pile of color to use up.  I started by making more granny squares, using color combinations that were different from the blanket.  I got bored after 14, packed the squares and wool into a basket, and left them in my closet for close to 9 months.  Then, a few days ago, I came across woolhogs monthly Made It Challenge.  May’s theme is stash busting.

As a new blogger, I thought it would be fun to meet and connect with new people by participating in such an awesome challenge.  I pulled out the Granny Squares and left over wool to make a pillow.

Granny Pillow by Aviena

I confess it took me longer to put the pillow together than I had originally planned. However, I am pleased with the final outcome.  I like how I used taupe to join the squares together.  I also added 2 rows of granny stitches as a border around each side of the pillow and fastened the enclosure with some bright, plastic buttons.  Now that I’ve finished, I want more fun pillows to decorate my house with!!

10 thoughts on “Stash Busting a Granny Pillow

    1. I’m thrilled to be a part of your challenge! Thank you so much for putting it on and for your compliments on my work. I’m looking forward to being a part of future challenges to come!

  1. Very nicely made and colors are beautiful. Thank you for visiting, clicking the Like Button, and Following my blog. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

    1. I’m glad to be following you. I’ve read some of your comments and think that you have the most loving things to say to people. I’ll look forward to reading more of your positive words and scoping out future projects!

      1. Thank you and you’re doing likewise. We all deserve such motivation, inspiration, and encouragement. I look forward to sharing. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

Leave a Reply

