Crochet Motifs are my new Inspiration

Crochet Garland by AvienaAs mentioned in my Flower Garland post, I recently purchased Beyond the Square: Crochet Motifs.  I’m having fun experimenting with different yarns, hooks, and motifs.  I like that I can sit down and accomplish a finished piece so quickly.  It’s satisfying.

After much playing, I made this garland with Motifs 1, 2, 6, & 51.  I used Berroco Vintage DK in Fennel, Fuchsia, and Mushroom.  I’ve used this yarn a number of times and always enjoy working with it.  I especially love the variety and richness of color. There is a dainty lightness about the finished piece that allows it to hang nicely.

I have a few new projects sketched out and am due for a scavenger hunt through the local thrift stores.  A trip to the yarn shop is also in order.  I need more colors to be inspired by!

11 thoughts on “Crochet Motifs are my new Inspiration

    1. Gratitude!! I really like this one too. I want to keep it but am thinking it needs to find a different home, so I’m inspired to keep making more 🙂

    1. Thank you! I really enjoy Berroco’s colors. They’re rich and most of them are multidimensional. I was scoping the color palette last night for new inspiration and think my next trip to the yarn store will be expensive!

  1. These motifs caught my eye because I just love purple,flowers and crochet! Have browsed your blog. You have a fab view from your apartment! We share some interests- gardening and craft work. I aim to put together a gardening post sometime soon. We have a compact garden but still grow lovely things and have a veggie patch at the front of the house! Lots of pots too! Tho’ none as pretty as the ones you have decorated. Love your work 🙂

    1. Wow!! So glad to meet you and thanks for ALL of your positivity. I too love the view from my balcony and am thinking of posting some pictures I’ve collected over the years. As for gardening, the one I so lovingly nurture on my balcony is tiny! It does, though, add so many good vibes to our humble little apartment. Thank goodness for a mom who has a huge yard,so we can garden enough to feed ourselves and others throughout the summer. I’m looking forward to your gardening post and am happy to meet someone with similar interests!!

Leave a Reply

