Tutorial: Yarn Embellished Vase

I haven’t been feeling very creative lately and have been missing the process of letting my mind and hands go for a wander.  I spent most of today working myself up to a project and finally came up with this yarn embellished vase.  I’ve never really made anything like it and am quite pleased with the final product.

Love Never Dies by Aviena

This is how I did it:

Step 1: The Vase

Use a clean glass container (any kind, size, shape) and cover with glue.  I used Aleena’s ‘Original Tacky Glue’ and found that it dried pretty quickly.  So, starting from top to bottom, I added glue as I wound the yarn around the outside. I stopped when I reached the bottom.

Love Never Dies by Aviena

Love Never Dies by Aviena

Love Never Dies 3

Step Two: Embellishments

At this point, I found the vase pretty boring and thought some ribbon might look nice.  I rummaged through my ribbon stash:

Ribbons and Trim by Aviena

And found a nice cream ribbon to wrap around the outside of the bottle.

Love Never Dies by Aviena

Next, I added a crochet flower (pattern from Little Birdie Secrets), crocheted leaves (pattern from Crochet with Raymond), and a vintage (looking) button.

Love Never Dies by Aviena

Thinking the bottle looked a little unfinished, I used a few of the Puffy Crochet Hearts (left over from Z’s Mobile) and attached them to wooden dowels wound with green yarn.

Love Never Dies by Aviena

From start to finish this project took about an hour.  It was quick and easy.  I’m already planning more!

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Yarn Embellished Vase

Leave a Reply

