The Glory of Spring

Unlike most of Canada, which is still blanketed by snow, the Southwestern corner is in full bloom.  My mom and I followed a scrumptious breakfast with a walk to explore the new delights sharing their glory with those who stop to notice.  We first chanced upon some beautiful flower beds.  Each had it’s own flower and color combination.  Each is abundant and bursting with life.  The color is a welcome respite from the dreariness of winter!

Flowers by Aviena

Spring Flowers by Aviena

As we continued our exploration, we came upon a number of my favorite trees – Cherry trees.  Ever since I was a child, I’ve been fascinated by these trees.  I enjoy them the most in the Spring when they’re full of blossoms and the invitation of day dreaming.  One day, when I have my own home, I will plant these trees and spend hours meditating on their glorious abundance and imagining what it would be like to curl up in the softness of their petals.

grafted tree

This one that has two trees grafted together, producing a radiance of pink and white softness.

cherry blossoms

Mom and I spent a great deal of time taking photographs, and I was anxious to show her a new spot I’d found to sit and think.  I’ve decided to save photographs of that spot for another post.  I must, though, share another gift the earth gave me today.

Rainbow by Aviena

I’d just woken up from a nap with my kitties and saw a spring rainbow.  This picture in no way does justice to it!  In all honesty, I’ve never been so close to a rainbow, and we see quite a few from our view.  They always make me stop in wonder at the beauty of light and the promise of hope after rain.  This particular rainbow arched right in front of my balcony and lasted only a few moments.  I could see where each end disappeared into the sea!

Today’s walk has left me in awe of the beauty of nature.  To think that the earth goes through its cycles to give us life is an incredible gift and one that needs to protected.  Mom’s and my journey to one of my treasured sitting spots revealed a disrespect for nature as we saw shopping carts and oil barrels littered in the river.  Their was garbage lined along the pathway.  It saddens me that some people do not see the inherent value in cultivating our earth to ensure it remains pristine and abundant in life.

For the moment, I choose to stay focused on the beauty I witnessed today and give gratitude to life itself.  My thoughts on the disrespect shown to our gorgeous planet can wait for another day.

Leave a Reply

