Collage from the Recycle Box

A couple of years ago I was obsessed with art magazines that highlighted contemporary and underground art and collected a number of issues of Juxtapoz Magazine and Hi Fructose.  I found them not too long ago when cleaning out my magazine collection.  Before throwing them in the recycle bin, I went through each looking for images that I could later add to some of my paintings.  Having followed Greg “Craola” Simkins for a number of years, I was excited to re-discover a collection of his work in an older issue of high-fructose.  One image in particular inspired a collage.

Collage by aviena

To make this piece I used:

acrylic paint (applied with a variety of techniques)

pages ripped from magazines

Mod Podge

sponges

fabric appliques and ribbon

The background of this image was made using paper harvested from an old Adbusters magazine.  I dyed each paper in tea, allowed them to dry, and Mod Podged them to a canvas.  I then used acrylic paint to add color.  The fierce rabbit is done by Craola and was also attached to the canvas using Mod Podge.  The flowers you see around the border were cut individually from bouquets of flowers in a bridal magazine.  I spent a few hours cutting out the flowers and now have a nice collection to use on other projects:

flowers

I’ve been making gift boxes and journals with these flowers and images from the old art magazines.  I’ll post some pictures soon!

Leave a Reply

